[audiotube id="MoZgTrv5ods" size="medium"]

[Exclusive stream] The Body - No One Deserves Happiness 1

The Body’s Chip King and Lee Buford have set out to make what they call “the grossest pop album of all time,” on their new album “No One Deserves Happiness” and they pulled out all the stops to achieve this goal: They brought in Beyonce-inspired bass lines, 808 drum beats, and soaring vocals contributed by Chrissy Wolpert fromThe Assembly of Light Choir and Maralie Armstrong (Humanbeast). The band has delivered a massive-sounding album that revolves around crushing themes, incorporating elements of 1980s dance records and hip-hop beats into their music… while still retaining the signature darkness and heaviness tehy’re known for

No One Deserves Happiness will be released on 18th March 2016 via Thrill Jockey and you can hear the lead track “Shelter Is Illusory”, which pits Chip King’s astounding screams against Maralie Armstrong’s belted vocals over a marching beat.

The Body is one of the most in-demand bands around: In the past two years alone, The Body has joined forces with the metal bands Thou, Sandworm, and Krieg, recorded with Wrekmeister Harmonies, and collaborated with electronic producer The Haxan Cloak for “I Shall Die Here”. They are currently working on collaborations with renowned dubstep pioneer The Bug, and grindcore band Full of Hell. This unexpected list of collaborators and unpredictable touring approach further emphasises the demand for the band’s distinctive sound and their open, explorative nature.

The Body – “No One Deserves Happiness”
Out 18th March via Thrill Jockey
Available on CD / LP / DL


1. Wanderings
2. Shelter Is Illusory
3. For You
4. Hallow / Hollow
5. Two Snakes
6. Adamah
7. Starving Deserter
8. The Fall and the Guilt
9. Prescience
10. The Myth Arc